2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
69 members (Carey, Animisha, ambrozy, 8ude, Anglagard44, chaplincap, 14 invisible), 563 guests, and 533 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M
OP Offline
M
Hi all, I’m a Piano Teacher and I’ve just sold my basic Yamaha acoustic as I need the option of headphones and volume control. I’ve played lots of older low value digital pianos before in schools and found them ok. I wondered if people feel that a hybrid piano such as Kawai NV5 worth the extra £2k than say a CA99? I get it has a more realistic action but it’s still a digital sound in terms of output.

E L
P
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
P
You know, as of lately I’ve been asking myself the same question:

Is it worth the extra dough, or should I just save that extra 2/3/4K for a rainy day?

It seems that once you say ‘real action’ the rest is supposed to be crap by comparison, but no one asks is this ‘real action’ a good real action?

I explain: yes, the design follows that of an acoustic piano action, but the similarities end right there because it’s all about procedural/manufacturing quality; such as, quality/curation of wood and related materials; implementation in terms of regulation; and many other aspects related to production that we know nothing about.

I sometimes wonder if the wood that isn’t good enough for their acoustics ends up in their ‘hybrids’.