2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, 13 invisible), 2,012 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3072069 01/20/21 09:21 PM
H
Harpuia Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
H
Hi my friends at Piano Forum. I usually post in the digital forum since I own a Yamaha AvantGrand digital hybrid. However, one of my neighbors is selling his 1984 Steinway B privately and I'm thinking to try at this weekend. I may need some advice from the wisdom of the acoustic piano forum.

I'm an amateur pianist having over 15 years of experience playing various acoustic pianos including very cheap Chinese uprights when I was young, and various brands of grand pianos at university practice room (Steinway, Boston, Kawai, Yamaha, Mason & Hamlin etc). I'm currently playing repertoire like Chopin Etude, Beethoven Sonata, Chopin Ballades and Rachmaninoff Preludes. I would say that grand piano action is almost a necessity for me so after graduation I bought a Yamaha AvantGrand which is a digital hybrid piano with a grand action. My rationale for that is because I'm living an apartment right now so I need a way to practice quietly.

I've been using my piano with different VSTs (software plugins) but my dream is to eventually get a good grand piano when I move to a detached house. This piano got me excited! The seller wants to list his house so I'm hoping to get a good deal from it.