2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
105 members (AndrewJCW, Animisha, anotherscott, anotherpianoplayer, ambrozy, Abdol, akc42, Anglagard44, 8ude, 25 invisible), 677 guests, and 579 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
While I wait for my piano: Things I should probably do?
#3051611 12/01/20 11:06 AM
U
ul7 Offline OP
OP Offline
U
I have zero experience in music (kind of). My wife is way better off than I am starting off, lol. She still remembers all of the comprehensive parts of music I have long forgotten about. I did play Alto Saxophone in Junior High (was even first chair the entire time!). I'm 34 now, but I don't even know how to read music anymore. I do have rhythm, and have been told many a time I have "good rhythm". Other than that, I am realizing I probably need to get some things down that don't require playing the instrument to make things a little easier and not so "all over the place".

Here is some things I am thinking about out loud:

• Should I at least learn how to understand sheet music again?
  • Learning the keys and note locations?
  • Piano, and general music terminology? I'm sure that's something I could do.
  • Music Theory? (Is that even a thing?)
  • Anything else I am missing?

Some random inspirations to aim for in time (not anytime soon, obviously):