2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
40 members (c++, CharlesXX, brdwyguy, Beansparrow, AndrewJCW, Beowulf, Antho123, 9 invisible), 536 guests, and 539 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
back after 34 years
#3051208 11/30/20 11:40 AM
J
OP Offline
J
I'm 54 years old and have not played for 34 years. I studied with Leonard Eisner for 4 years at Juilliard pre-college and then with Robert Goldsand at the Manhattan School of music for 2 years. I experienced a bout of depression beginning of my junior year and took a leave and then completely changed gears, finishing college pre-law at Rutgers and then law school. I could never quite put a finger on why I made that change other than my mental state at the time but regret it. I experienced on and off bouts with depression since then, which explains why I have not played since then. Now with much time to reflect I realize something is missing in my life and am considering starting to play again - and hoping it will be a form of therapy. Any general thoughts would be greatly appreciated as well as advice regarding getting back into the saddle. Thank you.

Re: back after 34 years
JerryLouis #3051215 11/30/20 11:54 AM
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member