2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments. Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
37 members (Gianluca, Evgeny 85, EB5AGV, CharlesXX, Doug M., David Boyce, Flygbladet, EVC2017, gesine, 8 invisible), 494 guests, and 481 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Legendary self-taught pianists & composers?
#3050530 11/28/20 03:14 PM
P
OP Offline
P
Hi everyone! Long time lurker, first post. I am working on an end-of-year project for high school, and wish to compile all the anecdotes and stories (with sources/citations) that I can.

Which famous composers and pianists learned by themselves, or with minimal lessons?

Re: Legendary self-taught pianists & composers?
piano_adoring #3050542 11/28/20 03:55 PM
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Virtually none of the great classical pianists that I know of. Maybe Godowsky? I suggest posting also on the non classical forum since there may be a few great jazz pianists who were mostly self taught.

For classical composers, check bios of Mussorgsky and Charles Ives, although I'm not at all sure about those two.

piano_adoring #3050546 11/28/20 04:10 PM
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Sviatoslav Richter was “largely self taught”. When he finally started with Neuhaus at 22, the latter said he taught him “almost nothing”. Quotes from Wikipedia.

My YouTube, My Soundcloud
Currently: Yamaha N1X, DIY hybrid controller -> Garritan CFX