2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
93 members (AndrewJCW, accordeur, ambrozy, anotherscott, 36251, 8ude, Animisha, Abdol, 21 invisible), 647 guests, and 597 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Hypnotised by the piano?
#3049201 11/25/20 12:17 AM
X
xlider Offline OP
OP Offline
X
Hi All,

I started playing a couple of months ago, and play with a Kawai CN29 at home, mostly with headphones. At the music school, I play on a Yamaha C3, on monday evenings, with nice warm cozy lighting... Which creates a very soft and "hygge" atmosphere.

As I was playing slowly through a simple Bach's piece, my teacher made the following remark "Don't let yourself be hypnotized by the tone of the Piano, it's good to enjoy it 10% of the time, but you need to work and concentrate 90% of the time, so as to really make progress".

It is true that this sound has some effect and that the whole environment, playing and feeling a small grand piano, has a strong effect on me.

Do you guys experience this (great) feeling of being hypnotized as well? Do you differentiate when you do the concentrated work versus the "enjoyment" work? How do you set yourself in a state of concentration?

Thanks!

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Hypnotised by the piano?
xlider #3049252 11/25/20 06:50 AM
C
C