2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
82 members (anotherscott, AndrewJCW, accordeur, ambrozy, 36251, 8ude, Animisha, Abdol, 18 invisible), 651 guests, and 596 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
To Hanon or not to Hanon
#3048985 11/24/20 12:40 PM
Z
OP Offline
Z
Hello everyone.
I'm an intermediate level student (currently looking for a teacher in the Twin Cities area). I'm trying to improve and get better on the piano. I saw a teacher last week for a trial lesson. I didn't like him so am not going to continue with him. But, he wanted me to start doing Hanon exercises. This is the second teacher that recommended doing Hanon. I researched the exercises a bit and got mixed reviews. Some people swear by them and some say do not do them as the can cause injury. I wanted to get everyone's opinion. Do you think Hanon exercises will help one gain better skills or are they to be avoided? Good article below arguing against them. Also, if anyone recommends exercises that DO help one improve their skills please let me know. Also, any piano teacher recommendations in Minneapolis/St. Paul or suburbs area of Minnesota?

https://www.pianistmagazine.com/blo...-a-waste-of-time-and-possibly-dangerous/

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: To Hanon or not to Hanon
ZanderChicago #3049056 11/24/20 03:59 PM
M
1000 Post Club Member