2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
79 members (36251, Abdol, Bill McKaig,RPT, Blague, almo82, aostensv, 20 invisible), 505 guests, and 429 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Mute rail and other quieting methods
#3039848 10/27/20 09:39 AM
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
As I mentioned in another thread my neighbor has begun to complain to me about hearing my piano. I have been playing a grand for 20 years in the same room in my apartment and a vertical for 20 years before that and have only gotten three or four complaints but my neighbor is very upset. I only want to get a hybrid as a last resort since I love playing my M&H BB.

Does anyone have experience with mute rails? I listened to a demonstration of one online and it seemed to quiet the piano to an extreme where there wasn't much tone left. Can the volume when using the mute rail be adjusted at all? Does it basically insert something between the hammers and strings to mute the sound? Thanks.

Re: Mute rail and other quieting methods
pianoloverus #3039914 10/27/20 11:54 AM
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
I only know about mute rails for uprights, in which it is indeed a strip of felt that gets inserted between the hammers and strings.

I absolutely HATED playing with the mute rail, and on my Petrof, I just removed it completely (I think I removed it from my Yamaha U1 as well, but that was much longer ago)