2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
61 members (CyberGene, anotherscott, Calavera, brendon, CentauriB, crooow, bob44, 14 invisible), 587 guests, and 469 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Biggest struggle as a beginner?
#3029461 09/27/20 04:07 AM
OP Offline
Hi,

I am building a piano course focused on absolute beginners and I wonder what is (or what was) your main struggle as a complete beginner?
What is that you didn't know where to start? Which method to use?
Afraid by those mysterious 88 black and white rectangles in front of you? laugh

I am curious to know!

Your FREE guide to start playing the piano and keyboards:
https://www.guide2music.com/piano-starter-guide/
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Biggest struggle as a beginner?
frankelda #3029469 09/27/20 04:55 AM
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Hi

That's a huge open-ended question and the answers will depend on a lot of factors. But for me my primary frustration was that (like many youngsters) I didn't want to play what was written on the sheet music my teacher gave me, i.e. childrens versions of Beethoven etc. I wanted to play like Jerry Lee Lewis and Elton John, and a host of blues and Jazz players my Dad played recordings of. But at the age of 9 in 1970 there wasn't much else I could do, as I couldn't pick it up by ear (no talent in that area).