2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
76 members (Beemer, Abdol, Blague, BachToTheFuture, 1906Weber, 1957, Beowulf, Badger1966, 17 invisible), 493 guests, and 406 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Grade 8 pieces
#3029800 09/28/20 07:09 AM
Z
OP Offline
Z
Hi all,
I’m an adult who returned to piano lessons after learning some piano as a child.
I have been able to advance nicely since I started playing again, but I still practice mostly at evenings when I’m already (mentally) tired.
I usually take lessons with a teacher every 2-3 weeks (not during COVID19...).
I’m currently learning pieces that are ABRSM grade 8. My previous pieces were mostly around grade 7.

How much on average do you estimate it should take to learn a grade 8 piece ?

Of course it depends on the talent and hours of practice etc. and I also feel that some grade 8 pieces are significantly difficult than others.
Last thing - I’m not going to actually take the test , just play for fun, but my teacher is quite detailed oriented so we try to polish pieces before we declare them as “learnt”.

So under those conditions , is it reasonable to learn a grade 8 piece in 2-3 months (4 lessons)?

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Grade 8 pieces
ZigZagStory #3029802 09/28/20 07:23 AM