2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (clothearednincompo, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, 5 invisible), 1,109 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
N
OP Offline
N
I'm less than a complete newbie here, hoping for some beginner help. I'm buying a "slab" for my teenage son and I've gotten interested in the research. He knows much more about the technology than I do, though I do know the audiophile world and its commitment to sound reproduction.

For context, we're consider the Roland FP-90 and maybe the RD2000; the Kawai ES920 (or ES8); and the VPC1. (He's auditioned the Rolands and is trying to set up a time to play the Kawais.)

I want to understand better how the VPC1 works. It feels like what audiophiles would call "separates"--instead of one integrated amp, for example, a two-channel system might have a separate amplifier, pre-amp, DAC, and phono stage. In this case, where the ES920 would have everything in one physical unit, the VPC1 set-up would amount to a keyboard/controller (VPC1) and a laptop/software and speakers. Does that sound about right? This would cost more, take up more space, and be much less portable--but if I'm understanding it correctly it would amount to the same concept of sound production as the ES920, just in separate parts.