2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
31 members (Calavera, Gretel, Gustavo Guerra, FloRi89, EVC2017, CyberGene, Greta99, clothearednincompo, 1957, 8 invisible), 417 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Correcting Memorized Mistakes
#3025613 09/16/20 12:19 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I am an intermediate adult pianist and enjoy learning pieces that are a little above my skill level. I know that this may not be a good idea, but I get bored easily with easier pieces. If I really like a piece, I will memorize it so I can play it without sheet music. When I start to learn it, I use sheet music, but relatively quickly I end up focusing on my hands, chords, etc. I think I do this for 2 reasons. One is to be able to play it without the sheet music. The second reason is that with jumps etc. I have to glance down at the keyboard and depending on the complexity of the piece, I get lost glancing back and forth at the music and my hands. So eventually I end up memorizing without the music.