2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
33 members (Beowulf, FonzNL, EVC2017, Eric399, dorfmouse, ChrisGoesPiano, 8 invisible), 265 guests, and 429 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
The traditional route to learning classical piano
#3025661 09/16/20 01:02 PM
M
mone8 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi I have a question about learning classical piano. I'm a guitarist with a BA degree, and some piano courses were required. So I've already learned music theory, music reading and basic piano. I have no problem playing pop piano comping as long as it's not too challenging. I always regret not learning piano when I was a child (I took lessons for about one year). I asked a few friends who have been learning piano since they were young about what did they study.

So here is my question, now I wanna learn classical piano but I'm not sure how most people who took formal lessons were learned, or more specifically, what books did you use? Most of my friends told me they used Thompson or Faber first, then added some technique books like Hanon and Czerny, and after that they just practiced lots of exam pieces for exams until they got to grade 8. I was wondering if you guys were the same? Because I've had a basic understanding of playing piano like posture, scales and chords, I prefer not to have a teacher. Could you please tell me what books you used when you were learning piano? Thank you in advance!

(ad)