2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
30 members (FloRi89, EVC2017, CyberGene, Greta99, clothearednincompo, 1957, Hammertime, Chouca, Deltajockey, 8 invisible), 406 guests, and 346 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Buying a new piano, and I'm not sure where to start. Help!
#3025025 09/14/20 02:15 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hello everyone! I'm a student in university and my piano at home is a very old commercial piano and I thought it was time for an upgrade.

I went to the dealer's and tried out several pianos.
The sounds I enjoyed the most are narrowed down to two options.

1. Yamaha U30A (secondhand, ~$9 000 CAD). I've heard many good things about this model, and I did enjoy the feel and sound very much. The piano itself is about 30 years old, I don't believe it's an issue as it's very very lightly used, the hammers and felts looked very close to new and the strings weren't rusted at all. Of course, 30 years old isn't "old" by any means anyway, as far as I know, but if I'm wrong about this, please do fill me in.

2. Perzina GBT-160 (Brand new, ~$20 000). A 5'4" baby grand, I am interested as it is a grand and grands tend to produce more sound. I don't know if this necessarily means it's better for practicing for a university student.