2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
40 members (Almar, David Boyce, Boboulus, crazyRyoga, Beowulf, David B, bohemiatotal, clothearednincompo, 8 invisible), 455 guests, and 547 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Absolute beginner
#3019511 08/30/20 05:32 PM
A
OP Offline
A
Hi, I'm new here and also newly venturing into the piano world.

I'm looking for a recommendation as a good starter instrument.
I don't want to spend too much money at all, I'll explain why.

I usually play guitar, then I saw some videos of someone playing every part of a song using a guitar and a midi keyboard. So I bought my self a Novation Launchkey Mini mk3..
Instead of recreating songs with my guitar and various effects from Ableton with the launchkey, I end up just selecting the grand piano sound and playing parts of songs.

I enjoyed this but the problem is, it's only 25 keys, so I learn the left hand part of the song, and the right hand but I can't play them both together.

Anyway after looking around I stumbled across the Casio CDP-S100 which is £300. I almost bought it but then had doubts.
I wanted one that's half decent, weighted keys, piano like sound and it comes with a sustain pedal. I didn't want to get a basic keyboard then want an upgrade a month or 2 down the line.
But my doubts came from thinking the opposite to that, I could spend £300 and decide I don't like playing it.