2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (Aylin, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 1200s, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,326 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3015070 08/18/20 05:15 AM
A
A Guy Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi everyone,

I am an undergraduate student at a conservatory in New York. During this pandemic, the school will be limiting daily practice hours to decongest hallways (as they should), so I am looking to get an upright for my apartment. A grand piano will not work due to financial and space limitations.

In my city, I have found both the Yamaha B series and U series. Because of the pandemic and 2 week quarantine I will have to undergo once I arrive, I cannot go to test out the piano. Also, because of the 2 week quarantine, I will not have any access at all to the school’s practice rooms, so I am looking for an upright piano that can go beyond just simply being used for reading notes, and react in terms of tone quality and sound to different physical ways of playing.

I see online that the U series is considered “professional grade” and the B series is more aimed for beginners starting out. Since the U series will be more expensive, is there that much of a difference, and could the B series still do what I’m looking for?

Thanks for your advice in advance!

A
A Guy Offline OP
OP Offline
A