2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
51 members (bobrunyan, D959, 3B43, Animisha, Beowulf, 36251, 21 invisible), 460 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Hand Independance Breakthrough
#3013051 08/12/20 02:03 PM
OP Offline
Hello all. I'm a 54 year-old beginner. I got a Kawaii E8 maybe a year and a half ago. I was watching In Bruges once again and absolutely had to learn to play Prologue, the theme music by Carter Burwell. I had never come anywhere near complete hand independence. I have to admit, at times I relegated myself to accepting it just wasn't in the cards. Finding this piece so hauntingly beautiful caused me to practice more than usual.

I am not a whole lot closer to hand independence; but I came to a realization. It isn't a matter of hand independence as much as it is knowing the piece, one hand at a time. For me, each hand is completely reliant on the other. Each singular note on the bass clef is waiting for the treble hand to relinquish the piece, and vice-versa. Realizing this, I understand I was holding myself back. The irony of knowing I want to become proficient, while being my own greatest impediment!