2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
33 members (Cominut, crab89, Animisha, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 4 invisible), 1,178 guests, and 270 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3008771 07/31/20 01:53 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi,

I’m currently in the process of purchasing a new piano and have several ideas, just wondering what others thought on these pianos as I have no experience in buying pianos. I am an adult learner, currently grade 7. I’ve tried a Schimmel W118T, Kawai K300 and Yamaha B3. My preference was the Schimmel with a beautiful rich tone but don’t really know much about Schimmel as a brand, especially the Wilhelm series. I’m trying to avoid a big mistake so was wondering if anyone had any viewpoints on these models, the Schimmel in particular.

Many thanks fellow pianists!

L
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
L

When you play, never mind who listens to you. R.Schumann.

Casio GP-400

2006 August Förster 215
Learux #3008779 07/31/20 02:17 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Many thanks, a really interesting article and allaying most of my fears. I am however slightly concerned about the resale value due to the parts from Asia and the manufacturing in Poland; I have been advised to avoid Chinese parts all together however, I’m not sure how realistic that is.

Thanks

U
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
U
I don't have much experience with grand piano's, but out of all uprights I have tried, I think Schimmels have the most interesting/beautiful sound I have heard so far.