2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 10 invisible), 2,116 guests, and 332 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3009180 08/01/20 03:03 PM
J
JM77 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I started learning piano a month ago with a method book (Alfred’s Adult All-in-one Piano course Level 1). I’m running into two issues:

1. Biggest challenge I’m facing with this method book (and probably any book) is figuring out how fast am I supposed to proceed. For example right now I’m 30 pages into it and I’m playing “Jingle Bells”. How proficient am I supposed to get at Jingle bells before I move on? Right now I can play at an agonizing speed of 1 note per second (because I’m obviously not good at sight-reading). If I put my mind to it I can certainly memorize it and play it faster. But then I read somewhere that if you want to get good at sight-reading you should not memorize the song. Also, one side of me argues what’s the point in memorizing Jingle bells (unless it helps me become a better piano player). So I’m inclined to move on to the next section of the book. I’m super confused now since I’m not even sure if I’m making any progress. Please help.

2. Various forums and youtube channels recommend that beginners should practice scales. But the book hasn’t prescribed that (at least not yet). Can you recommend a beginner practice routine? Is it key for a beginner to incorporate certain things (such as scales) into their practice (besides going through a method book)?