2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (36251, Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 6 invisible), 1,092 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
8000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
8000 Post Club Member
I really want to get my piano tuned, but I don't want to risk myself or my tuner getting sick. But my state is really bad right now in terms of the increase in positive cases, hospitalizations etc. Even worse, I am a teacher (not music) and if I'm back in the classroom in the fall, I will be more of a risk to my tuner than the other way around. So it seems like if I'm going to get my piano tuned, it should be before fall semester starts. He wears a mask and shield, does contact-less payment, so those details are good.

But I've read suggestions that you open the windows before and after the tuner is there... I live in the US southeast, it's super hot and humid here. So one thing I'm wondering about is the temp and humidity swings, and the impact of that on the tuning if I were to have the windows open beforehand and again after the tuner leaves.

Say it's 95 degrees out with 70-90% humidity, but it's 75 degrees, 52% humidity in my piano room. If I have the windows open for 30 minutes before and after the tuning, wouldn't that knock the tuning out of whack? And if so, would the impact be bad enough that it would negate getting the tuning done in the first place?

Or is 30 minutes of temp/humidity swing not enough to impact the tuning (but hopefully enough to dilute any virus if it's floating around...)