2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
21 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 5 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3001745 07/12/20 09:10 AM
C
CajunJ Offline OP
OP Offline
C
This is sort of a hybrid question - digital keyboard and beginner, so I guess I’ll put it here.

I’m a beginner and have a Roland FP-30. I like the feel when I decrease the key weight one level. Would this hinder transition to an acoustic in any way? Would the normal setting be better for me for reasons I don’t know of? I really like the action, btw.

Thanks

S
S
“Weight” settings on digital are weird, because you are not actually adjusting the physical weight / force required to press the keys, but the change in sound with the adjustment is very convincing and feels like you are.

I have a cheap digital that I don’t use much these days compared with my acoustic, and I tried both ends of the spectrum with the weight/ volume adjustment thing. Nowadays I generally set the weight high = volume low to try to mimic the acoustics I play on.

I’m not sure what the key weight on the Roland will be, but it will probably be around 50 grams to simulate a typical acoustic. But what is often not mentioned is that an acoustic without use of pedal will be much, much heavier than 50g, probably nearer 80g. So if you plan to play an acoustic without using much / any pedal, set the Roland as heavy as possible to mimic it.

Yamaha U1. Yamaha P-45.
C
CajunJ Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Originally Posted by scirocco