2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Carey, AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, booms, 6 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 262 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
OP Offline
H
Hello, I'm a long-time Conservatory-trained pianist & teacher, but new to this forum, and in need of some wisdom and quick advice. A local technician (a credible long-experienced guy, recommended by another tech) is offering me a 1907 or 1908 Steinway O for about $5,000. He obtained it from the proverbial little old lady downsizing, etc. It's never been restored, to his knowledge. Frankly, it's got a very good sound, esp. in the bass, needs more tuning and regulation, and has "a few" cracks in the soundboard which 2 other technicians have assessed & said are no issue to the sound.

I am actually a prof. harpist, returning to piano just for the love of the sound... and I love the depth on this one. But--if a 100+ yr old piano has never been rebuilt, what are the odds it will keep that wonderful sound or begin to need more work in the next 5-10 yrs? (my childhood piano was a Wurlitzer spinet, so I am yearning for the depth/nuances with this piano) Thanks so much to those with far more experience than I on these issues. They train us to play, but not to know ANYTHING about pianos! :-(

7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member