2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (clothearednincompo, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, 5 invisible), 1,109 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
alby12 Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi all,

I have a piano diploma exam coming up and I feel nauseous just thinking about it
I have to play about 40 minutes of music, which include a whole Beethoven Sonata and three other smaller works. I have learned all the notes but I haven't been able to play them without mistake all the way through. I have only started memorising half of it (although it is not a requirement).

I have a teacher but she is vague. I asked her if I am right on track and she just shrug and said depends on how I practice...

I have one piece which I am super worried about. A fast Czerny piece. I have had bad experience playing a fast piece at a recital before. It was a Chopin Etude and I stuffed up big time and it scarred me for life. Although Czerny is easier, I am still not confident and everytime I play anything fast my heart beats fast and I get very nervous and tense.

Does anyone have any advice on what I should do for the next 3 months.
Practice obviously, slow practice.. anything else so I can be more confident? What should I aim for in 2 months time? And a month before the exam?

TLDR: I learned all the notes, pieces not perfect. Exam in 3 months time. Teacher is vague.

S
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
S