2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 15 invisible), 2,136 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
I’m a hobbyist technician studying the craft, so I’ll start with a quote from Igrec’s Pianos Inside Out:

“Let off has two opposing requirements: to allow the jack to support the hammer as long as possible during its rise, in order to give the pianist maximum control in soft dynamics [emphasis added] - but let the jack escape early enough to prevent the hammer from bouncing between the jack and the strings, or jamming the strings. Every millimeter of additional distance from the strings significantly compromises control in ppp, whereas adjusting it even a hair too close makes the sound harsh and distorted in fff.”

My question is: how exactly does the presence of this escapement/let off position improve soft playing? Put another way, if a digital piano doesn’t have this tactile bump that comes with escapement, why is it more then more difficult to play softly? As a longtime pianist, I can’t seem to articulate why this is.