2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (AlkansBookcase, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, colinvda, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, ChickenBrother, CrashTest, 7 invisible), 2,166 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
Hi all, thanks for such a great forum smile I am new to piano. Learnt a lot on 'internet' which I know some are true some are false.
True or false:
1, The piano dealers who mostly sell new piano told me that those refurbished pianos (imported from Asia) were not made for the US market and climate here, therefore they will break down in a year or two...
2, The resale broker tells me that number 1 statement is a myth. They emphasize how great used pianos conditions are and stating with care and maintenance, they last forever.
3, the internet tells me a piano's ilfe spam is about 40-50years, but most of the refurbished/reconditioned pianos are from 1980s or earlier. An acquaintance who is a musician indicated to me that it is better and very possible to find something under $5000 with in 5 to 10 years of age....however I searched online and called a few dealers, and I could not find any 'young' pianos like this....I am wondering if it is realistic

Right now, I am looking at yamaha used U1 or UX1...I found two. Both are quoted at $4000ish (not including shipping). 1984 and 1986...I watched videos but my non-professional ear could not tell a difference frown is it a good price for this age of piano?

Welcome all comments. Very appreciated! Happy July 4th!!

Last edited by JYHolick; 07/04/20 01:51 AM.
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
Hello and welcome.