2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
55 members (Anglagard44, dhull100, dachsie lady, djvu10, Brendan, CyberGene, 13 invisible), 448 guests, and 475 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
MIDI question
#2997661 07/01/20 07:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
T
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
I have a Yamaha Clavinova CLP320, which has MIDI in and out port on the computer.
Downloaded a sampleson virtual instrument,
Bought a MIDI to USB cable and connected my CLP320 to my computer.

The setup doesn't seem to work.

Now I am reading the CLP320 user manual, it talks about transmitting and receiving song data between MIDI devices, but did not talk about playing a virtual instrument.

Does anyone know if CLP 320 is capable of playing a virtual instrument?

Many thanks!

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997674 07/01/20 08:19 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 577
S
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 577
You can certainly play a virtual instrument. The MIDI data out of the CLP320 will do that. I'm not familiar with sampleson virtual instruments. Are they a stand alone application or is it just a plug in that must run inside of another program? That could be your problem.


[Linked Image]
Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997677 07/01/20 08:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
T
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
It says it is a stand-alone program.

Can anyone suggest a simple setup for me to try? Anything, just to make sure the Yamaha itself is not the problem.

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997685 07/01/20 08:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 807
E
500 Post Club Member
Online Content
500 Post Club Member
E
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 807
The Monkeys, you may install Pianoteq demo for testing.

Also you may try connecting MIDI in and out of the cable to out and in of the piano, respectively or, if that does not work, the other way round. Finally, what is the make of your cable? There are plenty of reports of problems with some cheap MIDI-USB converters.


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997693 07/01/20 09:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
This piano (like most others) does not need a MIDI/USB converter. You can plug a straight USB cable between the piano (USB-to-host port) and the computer.
You'll need to install the Yamaha driver (now Steinberg driver?) on the PC. This eliminates the $40 MIDI/USB converter.

Regardless ... more information is needed about this sampleson instrument.
1. Does it offer instructions on how to configure its MIDI input? That's generally not automatic. You have to set it up.
2. Does it offer instructions on how to configure its audio output? That, too, is not automatic.

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997727 07/02/20 01:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,538
2000 Post Club Member
Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,538
Some MIDI/USB interface have some LED. You can see if the CLP320 sends something. The LED should lit at every keystroke (and release). You should connect IN to OUT (and OUT to IN), but some model have « to IN » and « to OUT » sockets and have to be connected to IN and Out respectively.

The Pianoteq demo has a MIDI monitor option which permits to know if the PC receives something.

The virtual piano should be set up.

And the sound will come from the PC sound card. If you want it to comes from the piano speakers, you need to connect the sound card to the AUX IN of the piano.


Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq
Re: MIDI question
MacMacMac #2997743 07/02/20 03:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 696
A
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
A
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 696
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
This piano (like most others) does not need a MIDI/USB converter. You can plug a straight USB cable between the piano (USB-to-host port) and the computer.
You'll need to install the Yamaha driver (now Steinberg driver?) on the PC. This eliminates the $40 MIDI/USB converter.

Regardless ... more information is needed about this sampleson instrument.
1. Does it offer instructions on how to configure its MIDI input? That's generally not automatic. You have to set it up.
2. Does it offer instructions on how to configure its audio output? That, too, is not automatic.

This Piano like many others has a reference manual. If you check the reference manual, you will realize that this piano does not have a USB port on it.

1- What is the make of your cable? But a good USB/MIDI cable. Yamaha and Roland make good MIDI/USB cables. Sometimes you need to install the drivers for the cable. I have a Roland MIDI/USB cable for my wind controller and I had to install the drivers on OS X.

2- Use a software to monitor if you get any commands from the cable/device:
https://www.morson.jp/pocketmidi-webpage/


Kawai MP7SE, Yamaha MOTF XF6, Yamaha WX5, Yamaha Pacifica 112v
Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997800 07/02/20 09:56 AM
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 24
M
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
M
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 24
There's a small utility, free, called midiox
It gives all sorts of info on your midi situation
I always use it to troubleshoot midi
BTW, just to be sure the basics are covered, your keyboard does not play any instrument, it sends data to the pc for the instrument to run there,
right?

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997967 07/02/20 05:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
T
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
Thanks for all the help!

I picked up this cable from a local music store: m-audio cable

I downloaded midiox, and can see nothing what so ever. The Cable has 3 lights, one is slowly glowing and dimming, the other 2 remains off.

CLP 320 is an older DP, more than a decade old, it doesn't have a USB port.
Here is the User manual

Is the CLP 320 really capable of controlling a virtual instrument on a computer?

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997987 07/02/20 06:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 56
D
Full Member
Online Content
Full Member
D
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 56
I'm sure it can. My digital piano is from around 1985 and it can control VI's on my computer.


1928 Mason & Hamlin Model A
Play it as a VI HERE
Yamaha PF85, Formerly Kawai KG-1D
Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2997995 07/02/20 06:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 807
E
500 Post Club Member
Online Content
500 Post Club Member
E
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 807
Originally Posted by The Monkeys
Thanks for all the help!

I picked up this cable from a local music store: m-audio cable

I downloaded midiox, and can see nothing what so ever. The Cable has 3 lights, one is slowly glowing and dimming, the other 2 remains off.

Have ou tried swapping the cable connectors on pianos's in/out?


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2998023 07/02/20 08:14 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
This cable should work.
Originally Posted by The Monkeys
I picked up this cable from a local music store: m-audio cable
Did you connect it correctly? The MIDI in and out plug are identical, so you could mistakenly plug them in to the wrong sockets, and things would not work.

That's probably why EVC2017 suggests swapping them.

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2998048 07/02/20 09:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,062
B
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
B
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,062
Hi there,

Make sure your computer even recognize the MIDI-USB adapter. The Roland UM-1 I bought needed a special driver that had to be installed before the computer could see it as hardware. Only after can you expect it to work. Once you are sure this is done, run the MIDI-OX freeware and select the correct interface in the MIDI options. Then you should see events appearing on the MIDI-OX monitor when you press keys, etc.

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2998057 07/02/20 09:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,965
Bosendorff is right. It seems that there's a driver for that M-Audio Uno. Have you installed it?

If the device did not have a driver on a CD you can get the driver online.

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2998067 07/02/20 10:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
T
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 746
Installed the driver (M-Audio MIDISPORT 6.1.3) and restarted the PC.
Tried the cable both ways, but it was labelled quite clear, one connector on the cable says "to MIDI in" and another one says "to MIDI out"

When I open midiox, it just says "there is no MIDI input devices"

What else can I do?

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2998074 07/02/20 10:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,062
B
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
B
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,062
A few tricks I would try :

- Check if you see conflicts or problems in the Windows Device Manager or equivalent (depending which Windows version you have). You should see your MIDI interface listed if the driver is correctly installed. Or do you see anything appearing as incorrect there ?
- Disconnect the USB cable going to your MIDI interface from the computer, then restart computer and once booted, reconnect the USB cable in a different USB port on the PC. This sometimes wakes up Windows to recognize the hardware.
- After trying these, run MIDI-OX. What input and output devices do you see under Options / MIDI devices ?

Re: MIDI question
The Monkeys #2999673 07/06/20 11:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 5,433
A
5000 Post Club Member
Offline
5000 Post Club Member
A
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 5,433
Originally Posted by Bosendorff
The Roland UM-1 I bought needed a special driver that had to be installed before the computer could see it as hardware.
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
Bosendorff is right. It seems that there's a driver for that M-Audio Uno.
No driver should be required for these interfaces (or any of the simple interfaces that are USB on one end and a pair of MIDI Din connectors on the other). There may be a driver you can optionally install for some extra capability, but for basic functions, they should all work out of the box. Unlike USB MIDI, 5-pin DIN never had an issue with "class compliance" requiring drivers.

Originally Posted by The Monkeys
I picked up this cable from a local music store: m-audio cable
There's your problem. You picked what I believe is the one and only "standard" USB/MIDI interface that has known compatibility issues with at least some Yamaha keyboards. Return it and get another, like that Roland UM-ONE.

ETA: See https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Uno--m-audio-uno - It says "Note to owners of Yamaha products: Uno is not compatible with Yamaha keyboards." I think it may work with some, but that's almost certainly the problem in your situation.

Last edited by anotherscott; 07/06/20 11:07 PM.

Moderated by  Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
What's Hot!!
News from the Piano World
Where Did The Buttons Go?!
----------------------
Our April 2020 Newsletter Available Online Now...
The Piano World During the Pandemic!
----------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Roland RD 2000 Editor
by EVC2017 - 08/12/20 05:24 PM
Hammond-style organ drawbars for electic piano
by Adamcw89 - 08/12/20 04:49 PM
Improving you sight reading (Paul Harris) Questions
by Colette2 - 08/12/20 04:00 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics200,883
Posts2,991,120
Members98,127
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2020 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4