2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
42 members (Burkey, DigitalSpace, 1957, accordeur, dhull100, Cutec, Back Room Studio, 14 invisible), 456 guests, and 427 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Good composers borrow, great ones steal
#2997027 06/30/20 11:22 AM
I
OP Offline
I
I am not a composer nor a music scholar. I'm a political scientist and sociologist who loves music, and I have always found this remark by Stravinsky profound for its social implications and its insight into the creative process. I don't know if Handel plagiarized or if Mozart "stole" a symphony from Michael Haydn as this article alleges and others have whispered (both probably happened but no one cares because Handel and Mozart added tremendous value to what came before). It is unfortunate and a shame that someone like Michael Haydn does not get the credit he should for being a gifted composer and musician in his own right. Theoretically, capitalism (with its obsession over authorship and its system of copyrights and patents) should protect someone like Michael Haydn and the integrity of his "original work", but when the great Mozart comes along, we all bow down and submit. This is because capitalism and man in general values something else--the idea that the most gifted and talented among us shall always rise to the top, even if the lesser must be stepped over or on. Herein lies a central contradiction of nature and of capitalism, and instance