2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
28 members (APianistHasNoName, crab89, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, 9 invisible), 1,217 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
M
OP Offline
M
I'm an adult beginner. I use Piano Marvel to help me learn the staff, but I have a good teacher who uses the Russian Piano Method (she learned in the Soviet Union, and taught at a music school there).

I know that she's going to be great at teaching me the correct way to play, but I'd love to hear some people who started learning as an adult (I'm 51).

What wisdom can you impart that will either make my learning experience easier (and more effective) or, on the flip side, what would you suggest that I NOT do?

Thanks!

MD

------------------------------------------------------------
Kawaii MP8ii
Piano Marvel
"Russian School of Piano Playing" by Nikolaev
Pianoteq
W
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
W
Be kind and patient to yourself in your piano journey. Think "the hare and the tortoise". Slow and steady will win the race. Good luck in your journey! smile

Kawai K500
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
I sympathize with you, as I began weeks from being 50. And as a complete starter in music... And now, a bit more than two years later, I am delighted I took that decision. So try to practice regularly and be sure progress will happen!

Jose

Yamaha U3H
Kawai VPC1
...plus some other DPs, synths, controllers and VSTs

[Linked Image]
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member