2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
48 members (albydooby, CajunJ, Abdol, CyberGene, bobrunyan, 12 invisible), 515 guests, and 275 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Piano Purchase Considerations
#2987156 06/02/20 07:03 PM
T
OP Offline
T
Hello,

I am joining this forum as a potential new owner of a used piano. I am looking to lease to own a piano. I’m a professional pianist and have been renting a Yamaha GP1 for the past year, and the contract is ending. I am realizing that with the right down payment, I can buy and finance a piano for less per month.

I am looking for input on how to research the options that have been presented to me. My general budget is to purchase a piano for around $10k, and I want to get the best value out of a piano while also retaining the dollar value in order to be able to trade up after I’ve paid the instrument off.

I live in an apartment and have the space constraints which allow for a baby grand, no larger than 5’4”.

At the local piano shop, I’ve been offered [and have a deposit down on] a Brodmann BG162 made in 2008 ,for $8900. I wanted to investigate the merit of this proposal, in time to go through with or terminate the purchase [which would get me a comfortable payment plan as well as a sound that I very much like so far].