2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
56 members (achoo42, blueviewlaguna., anotherscott, Boboulus, 36251, chopinetto, 10 invisible), 499 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Beginning again - can I unlearn my bad techniques
#2981028 05/19/20 07:08 AM
S
OP Offline
S
Hi folks. Looking for some guidance and advice. I self taught myself piano in my teenage years. Not classical style, more like playing a melody with right hand and thumping chords out with my left. I didn’t learn correct fingering etc, just developed my own style. I have not played in over 20 years and my hubby has just bought me an electric piano.
My question is about where to start and looking for advice and suggestions. Should I go back to basics and try to unlearn my bad technique? And if so any suggestions about what I should do and where to start?
I can still remember my scales, chords and can pick out a melody very quickly - but assuming my finger placing is all wrong.
I have no expectations of becoming a classical pianist or anything, but would like to progress to better than I was before. I used to be able to read music and am quite musical generally. Should I scrap all I learned and start again?

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Beginning again - can I unlearn my bad techniques
Susfloos #2981040 05/19/20 07:54 AM
D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D