2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (accordeur, antune, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, 11 invisible), 1,875 guests, and 348 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
I
OP Offline
I
Hi guys! Im new on this forum and I thank you in advance to take the time to read.

I started to play about 1 month ago (I had played the classical guitar before, studying for 3 years and then I stopped to play non classical styles), as a self taught before and with a teacher later.

Before reaching out I had looked at hand position, reviewed some Piano Adventures methods and the microkosmos method as well, with some hanon practice. Fortunately my prof told me that I didnt mess up and I was doing things correctly.

By now, I am practicing the Bach Prelude in C major with the first Hanon excercise. I was just wondering, what about scales? I started looking at some major scales but my prof would prefer to start studying them later so I stopped.

What do you think about that? I know I am a bit impatient but just wondering after how long should I start learning scales as I got its really essential.

Thank you in advance for your help

D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
Originally Posted by Iknownothing999
...I started looking at some major scales but my prof would prefer to start studying them later so I stopped....

What do you think about that?

Good decision.

It appears your teacher knows a thing or two.

If you wish to know WHY your teacher prefers to start studying them later, I suggest you ask your teacher.