2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
34 members (doremi, doctor S, Burkey, accordeur, Daryl Durand, 1957, Carey, Chrispy, 9 invisible), 335 guests, and 420 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Help me re-structure my lessons
#2962966 04/02/20 12:52 PM
I
Ido Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Hi all,

Not a teacher here - I've been studying piano for a little over three years, mostly by learning classical pieces and taking whatever I can from each piece.

I would like to improve my musical freedom on the piano in terms of being able to:
1. quickly understand what's going on theoretically in each piece - e.g. chords, harmony - and not just on paper - but in my fingers (I do analyze my pieces but not on the spot, far from that)
2. experiment with possible alteration of the piece
3. transcribing songs by ear
4. improvising
5. improving my reading, to speed up the learning of new pieces

In general, be more fluent, musically. I know some theory, and have a good ear, but feel restricted.

I realize that these are long term goals and would like to re-structure my lessons to reflect them better, because I will only make progress in something if the lesson somehow covers it.
And I do wish to continue learning pieces, just not 100% of the time.

My question is what would you do during a lesson in order to strengthen these areas? How would you organize/divide the lesson to make a direct, measurable progress in these areas?