2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,866 guests, and 275 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
Mark122 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hello all, apologies in advance for the wall of text

I've been playing for a couple months now being self taught, learning online and acquiring a plenty of resources and pasting them on this large "piano study" document I made (I'd be happy to share upon request). I really enjoy my playing style

I've delved into some music theory extensively as well

I'm creating this posting as after looking at interviews of my favorite musicians and inspirations, like Greg Phillinganes, they seem to be well versed in technique and their hand positions/fingering as well as overall dexterity seems like one of an expert pianos if you get what I mean? :P The video attached is a prime example of what I'm talking about

Some seem to have background in classical studies, so I assume that is a crucial factor in playing

I never took time to really study what is considered to be "proper fingering" which mainly applies for my left hand than my right hand, due to the fact that normally I just play octaves and sometimes add a fifth. I fear that is affecting my playing in numerous ways, a will in the future if I don't do something about it now.