2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, 4 invisible), 1,288 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
I'm writing this to document my experience with Entropy Piano Tuner. I found others' posts in this forum useful when I did my tuning, so I thought sharing my experience with this software might be useful for others as well.

I bought a 30 year old Baldwin spinet piano that was in great shape but out of tune. Because it was cheap and because I'm an engineer that likes projects, I was going to tune it myself. I looked into several pieces of software, but didn't want to spend a lot of money for an inexpensive purchase. I was either going to use something free or tune it mostly chromatically in the middle and the rest by my untrained ear. Anyways, when I saw the EPT I liked the idea (yay math and objectivity!). I've never owned a piano nor tuned one, but did play a little bit when I was young. My girlfriend is pretty good, so I mainly wanted to hear her play. I am very careful and meticulous so I was not worried about tuning it myself and I didn't have much to lose anyways.

The piano was a semitone off in pitch. C#4 sounded like the C4 on my electronic keyboard and the measured fundamental frequency indicated as much too. So, it was 100 cents off--and I knew a couple of pitch raises were required. As an engineer I understood I couldn't overpull it enough to have it done 1-2 tunings and be accurately in-tune.