2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
52 members (chopinetto, Boboulus, Carey, anotherscott, Charles Cohen, AWilley, Bruce In Philly, 16 invisible), 418 guests, and 481 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Alternative Scale Fingering
#2950360 02/22/20 10:16 PM
H
HC110 Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Hi,

I've been teaching myself for 4/5 years. Somewhere along the line I came across these Alternate Scale Fingering that seemed like a good idea.
I've been practicing them and I like them. They feel quite intuitive and logical. Recently I've taken a teacher for the first time and she is insisting I revert to traditional fingerings. I'm resisting!
1. Firstly does anyone else know this fingering and what are peoples opinion about the utility or otherwise of them?
2. Secondly, should I be a good student and stop resisting or is there a case, as I feel there is, to be made for sticking with these fingerings I've now learnt

I should add my main goal here in learning the piano is to be able to improvise (as opposed to learning repertoire)
Also, I think my teacher is really good!

So I say:

I have adopted this and made it my own: [clap clap]
Cut back the weakness, reinforce what is strong. [repeat]

[guitar solo]
[fade over incoherent yelps]
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Alternative Scale Fingering
HC110 #2950371 02/22/20 11:35 PM
1000 Post Club Member