2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
84 members (brendon, 8ude, Abdol, Alex_Ki, A Guy, bobrunyan, 23 invisible), 605 guests, and 486 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Chopin to help you sleep
#2949168 02/19/20 03:48 PM
B
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
B
I'm watching Trust Me, I'm a Doctor on BBC TV at the moment (if you're in the UK, switch on your TV now wink ), and there was Chopin playing to an insomniac.......

Apparently, 'music without lyrics' (the Beeb's euphemism for classical music?) can get you into a nice restful slumber, complete with REM.

What was the piece? Chopin's Ballade No.2.....but make sure it stops before the explosion grin.

"I don't play accurately - anyone can play accurately - but I play with wonderful expression. As far as the piano is concerned, sentiment is my forte. I keep science for Life."
Re: Chopin to help you sleep
bennevis #2949302 02/19/20 09:03 PM
J
J
I've never been able to fall asleep to music, of any kind. My mind gets too engaged. Only white noise for me!

I ❤️ Mendelssohn, Yann Tiersen, Heller
bennevis #2949303 02/19/20 09:07 PM
Z
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Z
I tried playing this to a piano pupil of mine, who claimed that the intro reminded her of "listen with mother" the old TV series (not heard it). I understand that listen with mother is Faure, so I guess she wasn't a million miles away.