2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 4 invisible), 1,184 guests, and 271 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
B
OP Offline
B
Hello. I am now 60 yrs old. I have been playing piano now for over 40 years, but only as a hobby or as an "enthusiast" (i.e. I'm not a professional or concert pianist). As an indication of my skill level, I know and am comfortable many of Bach's 2- and 3-part inventions, and have worked on a few pieces in The Well-Tempered Clavier. I struggle with faster tempos and more demanding technical passages (trills, rapidly alternating notes, etc.).

I have tried out a number of local teachers in the past couple of years. They all make their business teaching younger and beginning students, and my feeling is I do not get the technical instruction I think I need and specifically request from the teachers I have visited. (Ex: one teacher responded to my specific request for instruction on sight-reading by saying s/he could not help at all with sight-reading, and that was something I simply had to work on by myself. Another teacher did not feel comfortable instructing me on Bach.). So my experience with teachers is I get instructed on the "low-hanging fruit" - i.e. pointing out the incidental mistakes I make and not addressing the systemic problems arising from deficiencies in my technique.