2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, EVC2017, 3 invisible), 1,214 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Talão Offline OP

Gold Supporter until June  2023
OP Offline

Hi everyone. I started studying/playing piano 6 months ago and one day a little melody came to me while playing around on the piano. I decided to sit down and get 16 measures out of the main idea. After a few days of work, I got this:

https://musescore.com/user/32499182/scores/5924249

I'm currently working on adding the left-hand harmony to it, but would love to hear any feedback you may have (good or bad) about the melody part. Thank you!

Talão

Yamaha U3 and Kawai MP11SE
My piano journey (playing since July 2019)
10 weeks into Duane Shinn's 52-Week Crash Course
T
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
I like it! Particularly the first eight measures. You've followed the best yardstick for a solid melody ... the four measure one. Four measures or multiples form the basis for so much of our music.

For me the "aha" moment came when I simply followed the basic "sonata form" ... the ABA. Then I knew all I needed was that seed melody which could be developed and expanded into the related keys.

My personal clue to whether I have a keeper or not is if I get that "ear worm". If I hear my latest melody reverberating in my ears as I shop for groceries or try to take a nap, then I know I've got it. grin