2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
46 members (Burkey, anotherscott, Auraltuner, Beowulf, accordeur, 1957, 36251, 11 invisible), 416 guests, and 374 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Advice on practice methodology for adult beginner
#2910812 11/11/19 03:23 PM
I
ilumo Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Hi all. beginner here just seeking some advice. A little background on my situation. I have always wanted to learn piano and plated a little guitar 10+ years ago, self-taught, using tabs. I’d like to think of myself having above average ear and am able to pick up most melodies and can pick it out in guitar/ piano. I've always loved the piano sounds and how you can play rhythm and lead in one instrument. I started listening to some popular piano players using sythesia and thought maybe I could learn it on my own like guitar years ago. Note, I can't read music. I can read notes on the staff since my kid is taking lessons and I have to help them with practice. I started to play some simple songs, and I would say I practice about an hour a day. Sometimes more sometimes less for the past 6-7 months. Through the online "tutorials", I have probably learned 7-8 songs. Like a number of anime songs (Naruto themes (3 songs)), some rock (stand by me), some popular pieces like (river flows through, Nuvole Bianche, canon in D). I'm currently trying to learn the original arrangement of rondo alla turca, and have been doin