Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
124 registered members (AlphaBravoCharlie, AndrewJCW, agent8698, Antihero, achoo42, ando, Ankee, A441, Aceituna, 39 invisible), 1,957 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? #2909404
11/08/19 04:30 AM
11/08/19 04:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 52
L
lorez Offline OP
Full Member
lorez  Offline OP
Full Member
L

Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 52
So, I could not resist when they were on offer and I bought the Synchron pianos bundle. I want to build a new PC next year but my current setup is an i7 4970k (4c/8t) with 16 GB of ram. I thought with an SSD, not m.2 because I don’t have the socket on the mobo, and a quiet PSU this could work. Is it enough for Synchron pianos?

(ad) SWEETWATER Lowest Prices
Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909429
11/08/19 07:01 AM
11/08/19 07:01 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 7,783
Tyrone Slothrop Online content
Tyrone Slothrop  Online Content

7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 7,783
Originally Posted by lorez
So, I could not resist when they were on offer and I bought the Synchron pianos bundle. I want to build a new PC next year but my current setup is an i7 4970k (4c/8t) with 16 GB of ram. I thought with an SSD, not m.2 because I don’t have the socket on the mobo, and a quiet PSU this could work. Is it enough for Synchron pianos?

Congrats on the Synchron piano bundle! I have bundle too of the full Synchons but haven't yet tried it out, since my DAW was being built for me. I should be getting in a week or so.

When you are building a new PC, are you going to use your existing hardware? Because in having mine built for me, I just picked a motherboard that I could use NVMe m.2 on.


across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909437
11/08/19 07:25 AM
11/08/19 07:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,678
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
9000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
9000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,678
Raleigh, North Carolina
I presume you meant i7-4790K. Yes, there's plenty of juice there.
Originally Posted by lorez
I bought the Synchron pianos bundle. ... my current setup is an i7 4970k (4c/8t) with 16 GB of ram. Is it enough for Synchron pianos?

Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: MacMacMac] #2909469
11/08/19 08:36 AM
11/08/19 08:36 AM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 52
L
lorez Offline OP
Full Member
lorez  Offline OP
Full Member
L

Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 52
Yeah that one, Mac.
Tyrone, no in all probability I’m gonna build a new system around an i9 9900k.

Last edited by lorez; 11/08/19 08:39 AM.
Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909476
11/08/19 08:45 AM
11/08/19 08:45 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 7,783
Tyrone Slothrop Online content
Tyrone Slothrop  Online Content

7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 7,783
Originally Posted by lorez
Yeah that one, Mac.
Tyrone, no in all probability I’m gonna build a new system around an i9 9900k.

I was going to do the same but decided to go with the much faster AMD Ryzen 3900X. Since the 3950X with 16 cores and 32 threads comes out in 2 weeks, I've been thinking of upgrading to that and selling my current 3900X. I'd be happy to share my current build if you would like.


across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909488
11/08/19 09:04 AM
11/08/19 09:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,542
Not Banned
N
newer player Offline
1000 Post Club Member
newer player  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
N

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,542
Not Banned
The 605GB Full library (3 pianos) is huge and the standard library of 279GB is still big. So you won't know how low you can get latency without pops until you try.

- Today's CPUs haven't gotten much faster than your monster 4790k, although there have been some tweaks.

- You might find 16GB light.

- nvme SSDs are much faster than the SATA3 SSDs, but the pro music PC builders over at GS claim music pros don't realise any difference in most (virtually all) situations.

You can search the VSL forums for more details.

https://www.vsl.co.at/community/forums

Frankly, if you get your 4790k system to play at good latency, I would not consider the 9900k "upgrade".

Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909536
11/08/19 11:10 AM
11/08/19 11:10 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,522
Dublin
johnstaf Online crying
2000 Post Club Member
johnstaf  Online Crying
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,522
Dublin
I run it on a 2012 dual core i5 laptop with 6 GB RAM, but I don't run more than one or two mic pairs, as it doesn't make any sense to me to do so. I could run more if I wished. 16 GB is only necessary if you have a problem with reading latency.

Last edited by johnstaf; 11/08/19 11:12 AM.
Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909623
11/08/19 03:05 PM
11/08/19 03:05 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,678
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
9000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
9000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,678
Raleigh, North Carolina
I run with 16 GB ... and use less than half, even with six pianos loaded into Kontakt and Garritan light loaded up.
Not sure what the Synchron pianos require. But heavy RAM is pointless once you have enough. The only "more than enough" that you need is the next incremental RAM size.

Also ... CPU is not a problem for performing. Production can be very taxing, but performing is not.
Look at how many cores your piano software can and does use. Having more cores is pointless.
Fewer, faster cores is better than too many, slower ones.
And why is that? Sampled pianos are all about I/O. The drives matters most.

Anything over 8 cores (or even 6) is pointless for piano performance. High core-count is for servers.

For sampled instruments ... if you have the samples on SSD, little else matters. Just about any recent PC can handle most any VI.
OK ... Chromebooks? No.
OK ... bottom-end laptops? No.
But any mid- or higher range PC will do.

Opinions?

Re: How much CPU grunt is required for Synchron pianos? [Re: lorez] #2909660
11/08/19 04:14 PM
11/08/19 04:14 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,522
Dublin
johnstaf Online crying
2000 Post Club Member
johnstaf  Online Crying
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,522
Dublin
I think the possible exception is the Bechstein Digital Grand for Kontakt. They apparently made it more efficient with an update, but I don't know...


Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
I bought myself a Yamaha P71!
by Tyrone Slothrop. 11/14/19 03:49 PM
8 foot pianos
by funnypiano. 11/14/19 01:57 PM
What is this song?
by scriabinfanatic. 11/14/19 01:51 PM
Meeting other pianists
by uprightcitizen. 11/14/19 01:36 PM
What's Hot!!
Our August Newsletter is Out!
------------------
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tour!

-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics195,092
Posts2,890,809
Members94,968
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1