2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, 12 invisible), 2,031 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
chara Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hey everybody, it's my first post here! I am a complete beginner. From reading around here for and other places I get the sence that the adult method books are more focused on quick results and perhaps skip some material. If I can stomach simple children's songs and pictures, should I follow the regular course over the adult?

As a side note, I have read that the Alfreds adult course has an emphasis on chords. This seems very different from their two regular courses. By the end of the course, would you end up in the same place?

Last edited by chara; 10/18/19 12:39 PM.
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Some of the criticism of method books that you read here is written by people who love a particular method and have little or no experience with the one they are knocking. You can tell if a book teaches only left hand chord accompaniment by looking at the left hand parts in that book. Are they all chords? Or do you see different notes and different rhythmic patterns?

Anyway--left hand chord accompaniment is not a bad thing! It just isn't the only thing your left can do!

Learner
S
S