2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

Who's Online Now
71 registered members (bobrunyan, ando, beeboss, Blague, BachToTheFuture, akc42, AYS, Boboulus, 24 invisible), 371 guests, and 427 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? #2901103 10/17/19 05:07 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
I recently bought Roland FP10, just as a controller for Pianoteq and connected Roland DP10 so-called continuous pedal. It has switch allowing to choose '0-1' mode or 'continuous'. When I connect it to FP10 and then use it with Pianoteq, even in continuous mode it sends 3 velocities: 0, ~64, 127.

With Korg Grandstage and DS-1H pedal, I am able to get full range of velocities for sustain.

I'm wondering, is DP10 not actually 'continuous' and sends only 3 velocities, or Roland FP10 is limiting it and sends only those 3 values by MIDI? I cannot test DP10 with Grandstage currently so I would appreciate information from you guys.


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901106 10/17/19 05:14 AM
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
D
Deltajockey Offline
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
D
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
I was using my DP10 temporarily, while waiting for a Yamaha pedal, as an expression controller on my MODX.
When assigned to controlling the superknob, it appeared to work the full range.....if that helps.


The companions I can't live without.........

Kawai GL30 Acoustic Grand. Kawai MP11SE, Korg Kronos 2-88
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901120 10/17/19 06:43 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 518
E
EVC2017 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
E
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 518
Deltajockey has it right. I tested it as an expression pedal once and behavior sounded continuous.

On a second thoght, it also looked continuous on the LED bargraph of RD2000 zone.

Last edited by EVC2017; 10/17/19 06:45 AM.

Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901122 10/17/19 07:00 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 257
puremusic Offline
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 257
DP-10 is definitely continuous for me on my FP-90.


Roland FP-90 - Touchkeys - TEC BC - MIDI Expression
Kontakt - Arturia Piano V - Sonivox Eighty-Eight - Spitfire Symphony Orchestra

whitepianos.blogspot.com
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901125 10/17/19 07:05 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
So it seems it is FP10 limitation. It's strange: would Roland implement it in a way, that only 3 values are being send? I understand, that internal soundengine might use only 3 values, but external MIDI communication should not be limited. I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901126 10/17/19 07:06 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Tyrone Slothrop Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.

OMG. If you hear back from Roland, please tell us about it! It will be an "event"!


[Linked Image]
across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: Tyrone Slothrop] #2901146 10/17/19 08:23 AM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 411
R
RichieBill Offline
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
R
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 411
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.

OMG. If you hear back from Roland, please tell us about it! It will be an "event"!

Why? They don't like own customers?


Kawai VPC1 | Arturia Minilab Mk2
Pianoteq 6 Pro | Synthogy Ivory II | Production Voices | Arturia Analog Lab Lite | Korg Collection
Roland Quad Capture | Neumann KH120 | Grado SR225i
trumpet Getzen, cornet Olds Ambassador
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: RichieBill] #2901153 10/17/19 08:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Tyrone Slothrop Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Originally Posted by RichieBill
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.

OMG. If you hear back from Roland, please tell us about it! It will be an "event"!

Why? They don't like own customers?

I have an official ticket entered and logged into their trouble ticket system. It is 323 days old and I have never gotten one update on it from Roland even though the ticket has my contact info on it including email address, and I confirmed the ticket was in the system.

You are welcome to interpret this if you like.


[Linked Image]
across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: RichieBill] #2901159 10/17/19 08:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,417
MacMacMac Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,417
When you said "event" did you mean "miracle"?
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.
If you hear back from Roland, please tell us about it! It will be an "event"!

Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901181 10/17/19 09:37 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
Dexibell, who are basically ex-Roland Italy, tend to respond very quickly for all kinds of questions and issues. I had the same serivce quality with Casio and Korg as well. I've never had to deal with Yamaha, Kurzweil or Kawai. If what you guys are saying about Roland support is truth I wil be probably left with 'plug-unplug pedal and do the same with USB cable' as my only possible fixing attempt. Or I will just send FP10 for 'warranty' repair as 'half pedalling' is clearly stated in specs (and it currently works as 0/64/127 velocity switch, not proper half-pedalling). I could have bought FP30..


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901182 10/17/19 09:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Tyrone Slothrop Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
When you said "event" did you mean "miracle"?
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
I've reported a bug to Roland, hope to hear from them soon.
If you hear back from Roland, please tell us about it! It will be an "event"!

😂

Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
Or I will just send FP10 for 'warranty' repair as 'half pedalling' is clearly stated in specs (and it currently works as 0/64/127 velocity switch, not proper half-pedalling). I could have bought FP30..

Yeah, perhaps you need some sort of stratagem or argument for exchanging your FP10 for an FP30. The FP10 is a real beginners keyboard. You hardly seem to be the complete beginner if you need proper half pedalling.


[Linked Image]
across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: Tyrone Slothrop] #2901193 10/17/19 10:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
Yeah, perhaps you need some sort of stratagem or argument for exchanging your FP10 for an FP30. The FP10 is a real beginners keyboard. You hardly seem to be the complete beginner if you need proper half pedalling.


I don't care if they target it as 'beginner' or 'Pro'. I like its action more than RH3 in Korg Grandstage and need it only for VSTs. Also, it's super compact. Let's wait for Roland to respond laugh


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901196 10/17/19 10:08 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,417
MacMacMac Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,417
I don't understand this. I'm thinking your pedal works as advertised, but are you saying it does not?
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
... 'half pedalling' is clearly stated in specs (and it currently works as 0/64/127 velocity switch, not proper half-pedalling).
Isn't that "64" the half-pedal point?

Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901202 10/17/19 10:17 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
Roland DP10 is a 'continuous' pedal in theory, able to send range of 0-127 velocity levels for sustain. And it apparently does, when used with FP30 for example. When connected to FP10, and then FP10 via USB MIDI to laptop, only single values 0,64,127 are being transmitted.


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901205 10/17/19 10:24 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Tyrone Slothrop Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Offline
9000 Post Club Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9,405
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
Roland DP10 is a 'continuous' pedal in theory, able to send range of 0-127 velocity levels for sustain. And it apparently does, when used with FP30 for example. When connected to FP10, and then FP10 via USB MIDI to laptop, only single values 0,64,127 are being transmitted.

MacMacMac is raising the technical and nomenclature point: Is "half"-pedaling just a single half-way point, or is it a range of values?


[Linked Image]
across the stone, deathless piano performances

"Discipline is more reliable than motivation." -by a contributor on Reddit r/piano
"Success is 10% inspiration, and 90% perspiration." -by some other wise person
"Pianoteq manages to keep it all together yet simultaneously also go in all directions; like a quantum particle entangled with an unknown and spooky parallel universe simply waiting to be discovered." -by Pete14
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901222 10/17/19 11:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 4,023
G
Gombessa Offline
4000 Post Club Member
Offline
4000 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 4,023
This depends on the piano. Yamaha's lower end pianos also have a limited set of MIDI values for the pedal.

Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie
Roland DP10 is a 'continuous' pedal in theory, able to send range of 0-127 velocity levels for sustain. And it apparently does, when used with FP30 for example. When connected to FP10, and then FP10 via USB MIDI to laptop, only single values 0,64,127 are being transmitted.


Note that the pedal itself doesn't send MIDI values. It just sends voltage readings that are adjusted by a pot. The DP reads the voltage and then decides what MIDI values correspond to it, whether, 0, 1, 2, 25, 64 or 127. So some DPs "support" only one or 2 half-pedal values, others might output a continuous range 0-127. The pedal itself though, can output a continuous voltage "curve" so if you plug it into another DP that supports it, you could have different MIDI behavior from it (more or fewer half-pedal values).


Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11 || Kawai NV-10
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901233 10/17/19 11:26 AM
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 528
P
petebfrance Offline
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
P
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 528
I looked the FP10 up on Roland's French site. Under the 'tech specs' it says:
in English rather than French!
- Pedals:
- Damper (capable of half pedal when optional pedal connected) br />Optional pedal DP-10 (capable of half pedal)

for the FP30
(not in English this time - very odd!)
- Pédales
- Accessory pedal
- Pédale fournie : Sourdine

- Optional pedals
- Damper (capable of continuous detection)
- Pédalier optionnel : Sourdine (à détection continue), Douce (à détection continue),
- Sostenuto (fonction assignable)

Site: https://www.roland.com/fr/products/fp_series/fp-10/
The model numbers are near the top of the page, and the specs can be found by scrolling down to 'TECH SPECS'
it would appear that the FP30 is capable of continuous pedal operation but the FP10 does half-pedal.
It's a problem I came across in trying to interpret DP specs on a French site that I look at regularly (I'll really buy a new DP one of these days, honestly) - sometimes by 'half pedal' they mean continuous, other times literally half-pedal.


regards
Pete
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901261 10/17/19 12:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 68
P
pawelsz Offline
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
P
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 68
Maybe FP-10 recognizes 0-127 from the pedal as 0-127 for the internal module but transmits only 3 separate values through midi out or usb port? MIDI implemetation chart isn't really helpful or I can't find that info
https://static.roland.com/assets/media/pdf/LX_HP_KF-10_GP_DP_RP102_FP-10_MIDI_Imple_eng04_W.pdf

Can you get different "lengths of decay" on FP-10 when half-pedaling or is this just one value for specific place of the pedal travel?


Yamaha P-515, Roland FA-07, Hammond XK-1c, Presonus Eris E5, AKG K271 MKII, Laney AH80
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: pawelsz] #2901263 10/17/19 12:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 4,023
G
Gombessa Offline
4000 Post Club Member
Offline
4000 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 4,023
Originally Posted by pawelsz
Maybe FP-10 recognizes 0-127 from the pedal as 0-127 for the internal module but transmits only 3 separate values through midi out or usb port?


That is certainly a possibility, but in the few times that situations come up where it could be the case (across numerous DPs), it turns out that the DP handles it internally exactly as the MIDI data would suggest.


Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11 || Kawai NV-10
Re: Roland DP10 pedal - is it actually 'continuous'? [Re: AlphaBravoCharlie] #2901344 10/17/19 03:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
A
AlphaBravoCharlie Offline OP
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
A
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 246
Well, I've got response from Roland: 'With the FP-10 that is all you can do.'


Ars non habet osorem nisi ignorantem
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Piano World 

What's Hot!!
News from the Piano World
Our January 2020 Newsletter Available Online Now...
Free Piano Newsletter
----------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Music rest of Roland LX705: Is it good enough?
by hi-ho - 02/19/20 09:22 AM
Piano Vertical—a Performance Like No Other!
by Tyrone Slothrop - 02/19/20 08:34 AM
Rebuilt Steinways (was)? PFKAS?
by Maestro Lennie - 02/19/20 07:19 AM
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics197,058
Posts2,927,408
Members96,042
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3