Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
119 registered members (AlphaBravoCharlie, 604Rakuda, Antihero, AndrewJCW, Akaitsuki, astrotoy, Alan F, AaronSF, Ankee, 30 invisible), 1,883 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
How to record... #2899812
10/13/19 02:07 PM
10/13/19 02:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
M
mwf Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
mwf  Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I'm just curious, how do you record a digital pianos audio when you only have one set of L and R outputs? Let's take the nord grand as an example, which I was interested in buying with the nord monitors. How would I record the audio from the nord samples to my PC (I have a steinberg ur22 sound card) if the nord monitors take up the only outputs? Can I use midi outputs to connect to steinberg to record the audio? I know there will be replies saying why don't I use headphones to record but I don't like doing that.

Many thanks

Mark

(ad) SWEETWATER Lowest Prices
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899814
10/13/19 02:13 PM
10/13/19 02:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 766
Newcastle, Australia
AndrewJCW Online content
500 Post Club Member
AndrewJCW  Online Content
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 766
Newcastle, Australia
Doesn’t the ur22 have line outs on the back? Can’t you just plug your nord monitors in there?

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899815
10/13/19 02:24 PM
10/13/19 02:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,157
France
Frédéric L Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Frédéric L  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,157
France
“How would I record the audio from the nord samples to my PC (I have a steinberg ur22 sound card) if the nord monitors take up the only outputs? ”

There exists splitters which duplicate output. Or you can plug monitors on UR22 outputs and set on the software monitoring.



https://www.gear4music.fr/fr/Enregi...e6LsVjkGdzC9uTWOU5Q0vfpjFZRoC6noQAvD_BwE

Last edited by Frédéric L; 10/13/19 02:28 PM.

Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899820
10/13/19 02:32 PM
10/13/19 02:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
5000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
5000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
Quote
. . .
There exists splitters which duplicate output. Or you can plug monitors on UR22 outputs and set on the software monitoring.


I'd vote for "splitter cables". Cheap, technically very primitive, and very easy to understand.


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899846
10/13/19 03:13 PM
10/13/19 03:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 292
Philadelphia
Bruce In Philly Offline
Full Member
Bruce In Philly  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 292
Philadelphia
Modern keyboards have a bunch of functionality and ways of "recording". I will take a quick stab.. others will add:

1- Direct to a USB stick in your keyboard. My RD 2000 has a USB port and recording capabilities... I push "record" and it creates a 44.1/16 (CD type) file on the stick. Nice.
2 - MIDI out, via a USB cable (no other device) to your computer where you are running a DAW such as Ableton (what I use)
3 - Analog out, via a USB cable (no other device) to your computer where you are running a DAW or other recording software
4 - Analog out, via XLR or RCA jacks to a recording device (your computer, a tape deck, mixer in the mix)
5 - Analog out, via XLR or RCA jacks to a digital interface (converts analog to digital) then on to your computer with a DAW

In short, these modern keyboards don't need digital interfaces anymore and do really well outputing digital, MIDI, and analog formats directly.

If your keyboard only has L/R analog outs, then you must convert the analog signal to digital and then store it. Usually, you would go from your keyboard to a digital audio interface (like a Focusrite unit that converts to digital), and then digitally to your computer. via USB cable, where you use a DAW or other recording software. You could go directly, analog to your computer, but then your computer (mic input) will convert to digital and usually, the quality of this conversion in your computer is poor.

I hope this helps.

Peace
Bruce in Philly

Last edited by Bruce In Philly; 10/13/19 03:16 PM.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899858
10/13/19 03:46 PM
10/13/19 03:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
M
mwf Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
mwf  Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
Thanks for replies, so the equipment I have currently is a yamaha cp4, I have a steinberg ur22 and PC and a Roland CM110 speaker 2.1 system. I connect everything up, so cp4 is connected to UR22 via L and R audio cables and also the other outputs on the Cp4 (as there are 4 all together unlike 2 on the nord) I use to connect to the CM110, then I connect the Ur22 back into the CM110 inputs so I can play the cp4 and record all in one sort of thing, I also connect a USB lead from cp4 to PC for VST playing and recording.

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899889
10/13/19 05:44 PM
10/13/19 05:44 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
M
mwf Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
mwf  Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
splitter seems the best way, but is there any loss in audio quality if the signal is split up between 2 different sources, one for speakers and one for a soundcard? technically I can play and record at same time then with any keyboard that has only the single set of output jacks...

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899895
10/13/19 05:58 PM
10/13/19 05:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 17,102
Boynton Beach, FL
M
Morodiene Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Morodiene  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 17,102
Boynton Beach, FL
You should connect the CP4 to the Ur22, and the monitors connect to the Ur22 outputs, as AndrewJCW recommended.


private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899896
10/13/19 06:05 PM
10/13/19 06:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
M
mwf Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
mwf  Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
Thanks but I tried that before and didn't way the way it sounded, its not the same as direct into speakers in my opinion, plus to play the piano I would have to have to keep switching cables or always have the pc on if I did it the way you say...

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899928
10/13/19 08:29 PM
10/13/19 08:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
5000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
5000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
Originally Posted by mwf
splitter seems the best way, but is there any loss in audio quality if the signal is split up between 2 different sources, one for speakers and one for a soundcard? technically I can play and record at same time then with any keyboard that has only the single set of output jacks...


It's generally OK to run two high-impedance inputs from a single lower-impedance output.

the Roland CM110 "Line-level" input has 10 kilohm impedance -- "high-impedance" by any standard.

the Steinberg UR22 "line-level" input has 20 kilohm impedance -- also "high impedance".

I doubt that the CP4 specs include an output impedance. For a "line-level" output, it'll be at most a few hundred ohms. For a "headphone" output, it'll be lower than that.

My _guess_ is that the sound won't change. You'll know for sure after you test it out -- splitter cables aren't very expensive.

Oops . . .

One hitch -- are you using "balanced outputs" on the CP4, and "balanced inputs" on the CM110 ? If so, you probably won't find commercial "splitter cables".

I'm thinking about the potential problems of connecting one _balanced_ output (the CP4) to two _balanced_ inputs (the CM110 and the UR22). I don't understand all the issues, there's sensitive equipment involved, and I'm going to suggest the safest path:

. . . Do it as Morodiene and AndrewJCW suggest.


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899944
10/13/19 09:13 PM
10/13/19 09:13 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
M
mwf Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
mwf  Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 594
United Kingdom
No I need to know for a nord grand not cp4 sorry...

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899968
10/13/19 11:17 PM
10/13/19 11:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,040
Finland
C
clothearednincompo Offline
1000 Post Club Member
clothearednincompo  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,040
Finland
Originally Posted by mwf
Can I use midi outputs to connect to steinberg to record the audio?


No. MIDI isn't audio.

Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899989
10/14/19 02:20 AM
10/14/19 02:20 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
5000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
5000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,104
Richmond, BC, Canada
Originally Posted by mwf
No I need to know for a nord grand not cp4 sorry...


A Nord Grand uses _unbalanced_ outputs:

. . . You should be OK with two "splitter cables" (one Left channel, one Right channel).

But Morodiene's / AndrewJCW technique should still work OK.


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: How to record... [Re: mwf] #2899993
10/14/19 03:09 AM
10/14/19 03:09 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 766
Newcastle, Australia
AndrewJCW Online content
500 Post Club Member
AndrewJCW  Online Content
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 766
Newcastle, Australia
Originally Posted by mwf
Thanks but I tried that before and didn't way the way it sounded, its not the same as direct into speakers in my opinion, plus to play the piano I would have to have to keep switching cables or always have the pc on if I did it the way you say...


I found the same thing actually with my presonus audiobox. Wasn't terribly impressed with the sound coming out of it either through the monitor or the recording. A lot better than the computer's native abilities but well short of anything resembling "home studio" quality. I would like to try out a range of interfaces in store with some good headphones to see how they compare. I don't mind spending money if the quality is there.

Last edited by AndrewJCW; 10/14/19 03:10 AM.

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Your favorite Pianoteq piano
by EVC2017. 11/12/19 05:57 PM
Frozen ProTek
by DMPTT. 11/12/19 05:43 PM
Should I fix or buy new one?
by jennie_hp. 11/12/19 04:13 PM
Minor Shoulder Surgery
by KenBakerMN. 11/12/19 01:50 PM
What's Hot!!
Our August Newsletter is Out!
------------------
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tour!

-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics195,050
Posts2,890,151
Members94,935
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1