2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (AlkansBookcase, cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 6 invisible), 1,235 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Z
zweinz Offline OP
OP Offline
Z
I've been thinking quite a bit lately about the role of now-ubiquitous YouTube videos of the great pianists, and how that changes the way we learn piano. I recently wrote a blog post about it - https://doublebarline.com/recording/. I'm new to both the forum and to blogging, and I'd love to hear other people's reactions and thoughts!

Thanks so much!

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I read quite a bit but not all of your blog post. I think one's level has a lot to do with whether or not one should listen to recordings when learning a piece. Up to a fairly advanced level I think listening to a recording makes a lot of sense for most, especially if one does not just blindly copy a performance but thinks about what one likes or dislikes about it.