2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
33 members (giu, BachToTheFuture, Frédéric L, HadesPiano, Brahms4, CyberGene, EB5AGV, Harpuia, AZNpiano, 8 invisible), 344 guests, and 385 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
student suddenly forgot how to read notes
#2898359 10/08/19 07:37 PM
C
OP Offline
C
I've been teaching a recently turned 6-year-old boy for about 2 years. He has struggled with learning note recognition -- until a few weeks ago when he seemed to suddenly "get it". He practiced and it showed. I gave him random notes to identify and he could say the note names and play them on the piano. He even likened piano playing to playing video games (that is, keep your eyes on the music, not on your hands). Then, for his 6th birthday, his family traveled somewhere and stayed at a hotel. That's all I know because I don't ask a lot of non-music questions of parents. Now here's the thing: At his very next lesson, this child suddenly forgot how to read the notes. How does that happen? I have never had a student forget something they had already learned. I am baffled about this. Has anyone out there ever encountered such sudden note-reading amnesia?

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: student suddenly forgot how to read notes
cinephile #2898431 10/09/19 02:12 AM
N
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
N