2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 11 invisible), 2,080 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
Lazarus Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hi All,

I've committed to playing in a recital with many other students in about two months time and am wondering about suggestions for pieces to learn for the recital.

For background, I've been playing for about 5 months and have recently moved from Alfred AOI 1 to 2. Outside of that book however, among other things I've been learning the Bach (Petzold?!) Minuets in G BWV 114 & 116, so I think I am capable of playing level 2-3 pieces as stretch goals. In particular, the BWV 114 took me about four weeks to learn (about 6 hours total practice) to an OK proficiency (play through no mistakes, slight pauses, slightly slower tempo), but still could use significant extra effort on expression were I to perform it. Both those pieces are already being played by other students in the recital, by the way.

Two questions:
1) Is this level of piece about right or should I pick something slightly easier to have more time to focus on expression?

2) Any particular pieces or collections that are good to look at in this range to get inspiration? I've considered scouring the RCM exam pieces at the relevant levels, maybe finding some playlists so I can listen to them and select something that jumps out?

Any guidance or advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

E
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
E