2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, EVC2017, 3 invisible), 1,214 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M
OP Offline
M
I would like to know your experience with this:

People, it seems to me, often separate playing by ear and playing from a pre-written score.

I just started practicing Arioso by DG Türk. 

One of the first things my teacher told me was to play hands seperately. He then told me there was an easy way of finding out how you could add voices to this 2-part harmony tune. You could even play full chords. I myself analysed the intervals ie how they sound and how the voices moves. 

Even just playing from a pre-written score is a lot about using the musical ears. This is at least true for me. Not many music teachers, it seems, teach playing by ear as well. This seems to be the fastest way to learn music for me. I can't just repeat notes I see on a piece of paper. I need the "playing by ear" as well. Some have said that this process takes more time than just repeating notes you see on a piece of paper but I am not so sure. 

What are your experience with this?

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Two sides of the same coin. Two approaches to music that prioritize different sets of complimentary skills