2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, 13 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2879311 08/13/19 05:44 PM
Ilay Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi there,

I'm an adult beginner playing for about 3.5 months and I can't solve flying / straightening 5th finger problems.

Been researching it for about a month now. Read about rotation / isolated fingers / tension topics and tried various pieces of advice, but still have this problem.

Recording of my problem

It straightens the most and "flies" (a little) when I play scales and play black key with my 4th fingers (LH ascending || RH descending)

Any advice?

Thanks.

My piano journey started on April 20, 2019. Now I see how empty my life was.
M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
I do this smile. I actually only noticed when I started to record myself. I have been taught about technique by many different teachers over the years and whilst many many things were mentioned and some still are this was never mentioned. I therefore have concluded it is not a problem. Why is it a problem ? Unless your teacher thinks it is a problem and you have a reason from them as to why it is a problem I would not worry about it. Please check with your teacher. You appear to be playing very well. We have some very bizarre advice online so please check with your teacher rather than pianoworldforum. sorry people :0. good luck !

Ilay Offline OP
OP Offline
Thanks!