2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, 4 invisible), 1,288 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
OP Offline
R
I recently picked up a 1989 Baldwin Hamilton 243 for free from a friend.

The only catch, is almost all of the hammer felts are lifting, so I need to replace those. I work on guitars and a variety of things, so although I am new to pianos, I am experienced with tinkering. I found an RPT and had a nice conversation about the piano - he insisted I get this fixed before tuning (I was being impatient!).

However, I am having trouble measuring the bore angle. I looks like the lowest key is 22.5 degrees for the lowest key according to my protractor, which seems much higher than I've read other pianos typically are.

I've removed the action, and the lowest hammer for measurements, so I am measuring:
Key/overall length/Bore distance/hammer width
88 / 0.84375"/ 0.4375"/ 0.40625"
43 / 0.83594" / 0.46875" / 0.4375"
28/ 0.59375" / 0.3125" / 0.375"
1/ 0.875"/ 0.46875" / 0.375"

So my specific questions - does anyone know the standard hammer sizes for the Baldwin 243's off hand?

Is there an "off the shelf" set of these I can order?

Does the bore angle sound reasonable?

P
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
P
Your figures don't seem to make sense.

You coukd contact Ray Negron at Ronsen Piano Hammer. He might know the correct specs.

Pwg

Peter W. Grey, RPT
New Hampshire Seacoast
www.seacoastpianodoctor.com
pianodoctor57@gmail.com