2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
43 members (Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,188 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2869748 07/16/19 07:10 AM
A
OP Offline
A
Greetings, fellow piano lovers,

I have been practicing on Casio CDP-130 (from zero experience) for almost two years and although I definitely haven't reached my ceiling with it yet, I am (as well as people around) getting a bit tired of the keyboard noise and also would like to "take my playing to the next level"... So I really like Yamaha YDP 164 on the paper, i.e. I like the brand, the solidness of the key mechanism and the sound features (can live without extra features), but there may be downsides (apart from the cost), for eg. one user in the rewiew stated "a bit heavy and a bit noisy keys". Of course I went to the music store and actually tried to play it, but either I was too excited or not used to the heavier keys - it didn't went well and even the sound didn't seem that good (planning another visit soon for more tests - especially with the noise). Anyway, as a result I thought I still want it - because the sooner I get it, the sooner I will be able to master it. laugh

So my question is primarily to those who already have made their choice and bought this instrument - does anybody feel any regret (sometimes you do the purchase only to realize it was wrong because of something, for example - the benefits don't cost as much and other models are basically the same). But any other kinds of opinion are welcome!

Anton